Hi and welcome to the BIG INTERNATIONAL RACE EVENT that we’ve been waiting for the whole summer season long. It was TEAM RSA, vs TEAM UK, vs TEAM NAMIBIA. It was in the 2.1 MOD class and we had 21 drivers from two countries represented here, TEAM NAMIBIA raced in the invitational race as their turn will still come when all three countries race each other. We had close on 100 cars in the pits, the atmosphere was electric and the arena was racked, stacked and packed with spectators, National Anthems were sung, Minister Ivan Meyer (Minister of agriculture and sport) was there as well as Mr Steve Miller (the president of MSA and one of the directors of the FIA) graced us with his presence…. The stage was set for a CRACKER of a race event.




Paul Frost, Stuard Mc Laird, Trevor Dibnah, Kym Weaver, Mikey Godfrey and Dean Wood were the six drivers from England to come down to the RSA and take on might of Christo Kotze, Hendricus Botha, Nicky Koeglenberg, Matthew Jefferies, Leigh de Wet, Dewald de Villiers, Thys Valentyn, Eugene Zoghby, Barend du Plessis, Ruan Koen, Tertius de Kock and lady racer Michaela Norman (who is the first lady to represent SA in dirt oval racing).


The action was fast and furious yet clean as they left it all on the track. Hendricus Botha came and was not going to be outdone by anyone, the only drivers to give him stick was Barend du Plessis, Dewald de Villiers, Matthew Jefferies and Thys Valentyn. Leigh de Wet had fueling issues and he stuggled throughout the night, as for the English drivers Trevor Dibnah broke a steering rack on his car which put him out and Dean Wood blew a motor which also put pay to his event. Paul Frost ( Frosty ) had a great start to race 1 and it seemed as if he was going to make life difficult for the SA team but he was soon hauled in by Dewald de Villiers which put a smile on many a spectator’s face, Kym Weaver was the best of the UK drivers for the evening and ended on top of the log between them, a lot was expected from Stuard Mc Laird but he had niggledy car issues right from the start….


When the RED HOT action was over it was….. 1st Hendricus Botha, 2nd Thys Valentyn, 3rd Matthew Jefferies.